New Changes Coming to California's Recyle Program
More than $900 million is paid back out to consumers at recycling centers
A new law that goes into affect on January 1st could change the way you recycle your cans and bottles.
The new law requires operators of beverage container buy-back centers and processing facilities to receive training and pass a state-administered test before being considered for certification in the California Redemption Value program.
The one-day course is designed to protect the state’s $1.1 billion recycling fund from improper payouts.
California’s bottle bill provides an incentive for beverage container recycling through CRV, which is 5 cents for containers less than 24 ounces and 10 cents for containers 24 ounces or larger. Most beverages packaged in aluminum, glass, or plastic are included. Notable exceptions are milk, wine, and distilled spirits.
The fund takes in about $1.1 billion per year, and more than $900 million is paid back out to consumers at recycling centers, as well as to curbside operators and other collection programs.
Regulations are also being developed to support AB 1933, a state law requiring importers of out-of-state containers to enter California through California Department of Food and Agriculture agricultural inspection stations and comply with stringent reporting and inspection requirements.
Copyright © 2013, KION. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.